Created my first Facebook ad and I’m obsessed

I’ve said this before, I like learning about and exploring new technology tools. Being an amateur can be a bit frustrating and anxiety-inducing, but also very satisfying after some progress.

When I first started out, I dreamed of pursuing a career in advertising. Alas, being “fresh off the boat” didn’t quite work out for me. I didn’t have the benefit of internships and might have been a little awkward in interviews.

I’m happy where I am now. I have developed as a marketing professional. I have no regrets. But I’ve always enjoyed a little graphic design here and there, and have had the privilege of designing basic print ads for some of my previous employers.

After many years of dormancy, I’m brushing up on the skills with new tools like Canva and Facebook Ad Manager. It’s not the smoothest journey, but I’m enjoying the creative and analytical processes.

I just need to tame my obsessive compulsion to check my campaign stats all the time. It’s worse than my social media habit.

That said, I’m quite proud of this first ad. It was tricky to design with my limited Canva skills, and it took a whole bus ride from NY to copywrite a few lines. Nevertheless, I’m happy with it. I might be the only one who gets the joke. But like anything we put out there as wanna-be-artists, I’d simply be happy if people engaged. Even better if they ordered the book, but just pleased all the same for the clicks/likes.

How was this inspired? When I was sitting for a trim and blow-out the other day, my hair dresser was lamenting about her grown daughter not yet wanting to have children. I realized her story was very much like mine. I guess a lot of Asian parents, like my hairdresser and a few others I know, are very much like my Dad was: constantly bugging their children for a grandchild. So my story isn’t unique and it might just be relatable and inspirational to someone out there. You’re welcome LOL.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.