Wisdom of 16 – my high school yearbook motto

The wisdom of 16

Let nothing clip your wings. Let nothing hold you down. Always fly for God’s glory. Protect the environment and all its beauty. Keep your peace of mind and seize the day.

Whatever happens will be… leave the rest to the Universe.

I remember thinking long and hard about what I wanted to print in my high school yearbook as a motto. I didn’t want to quote anyone but myself. I also wanted the saying to reflect my beliefs and orient me in a world beyond high school, beyond the walls of Assumption Iloilo and the nuns who taught us how to behave. Reading this again as an adult makes me realize how little I knew then about the challenges of this world and how I could still be inspired by my youthful idealism. God knows, the only thing that has really held me down is myself.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.